

Theme

As a follow-up to the eight previous ice drilling technology symposia held between 1974 and 2019, the 9th International Symposium on Ice Drilling Technology will take a comprehensive look at the latest innovations in ice drilling technology, including but not limited to mechanical and thermal drilling, borehole logging, subglacial sampling, core logging and handling, and field logistics. New techniques are rapidly evolving within ice drills, and include rapid access drills, replicate coring systems, and autonomous probes. This symposium presents a timely opportunity to show recent advances in our knowledge and technological capabilities in ice drilling technology.

Suggested topics

Mechanical Ice drilling Development within shallow, intermediate, and deep drills

Hot water drilling Development within shallow, intermediate, and deep systems Thermal ice drilling Hot points

techniques and coring abilities

Rapid access ice drilling Development of technologies for rapid access drilling

Sampling and clean technologies

Methods for exploration of the subglacial environment

Probes Use of ice drills in polar and extraterrestrial investigations

Complicated conditions like high altitude drilling, warm ice, firn aquifer layers, brittle ice, ice streams, dirty ice

Special aspects Ice drilling technology, including drilling fluids, control systems,

surface and auxiliary equipment, drill cables, and hoses

Directional drilling Replicate sampling methods and tools

Subglacial drilling and sampling

Technologies for coring and sampling subglacial bedrock and sediments

Ice core handling Logging and handling ice cores

Borehole logging and in-situ observatories for drill support and science

Logistics Drill camp operations and future projects

New challenges Future development of ice drilling technology and unconventional approaches

We will also accept proposals for sessions not listed above before the second circular. Contact: 9th_IDT@awi.de

Program

The symposium will include oral and poster sessions and will provide a friendly and intellectually stimulating environment to facilitate face-to-face interactions and networking. Additional activities will include an opening reception, a banquet dinner, and a mid-symposium afternoon excursion.

Deadlines

12 May 2025	First circular and call for abstracts, pre-registration is open
15 May 2025	Abstract submission and registration are open
30 May 2025	Second Circular
15 June 2025	Abstract submission is closed
21 July 2025	Notification of acceptance
15 August 2025	Registration is closed

Abstract and paper publication

Participants who wish to present a paper (oral or poster) at the Symposium will be required to submit an abstract. A call for abstracts will be issued in the Second circular.

We plan to publish the abstracts as a proceedings volume in the *Reports on Polar and Marine Research* (see https://www.awi.de/en/about-us/publications/reports-on-polar-and-marine-research.html).

The Council of the IGS has decided to publish a thematic online Collection of the *Annals of Glaciology* on topics consistent with the Symposium themes. Participants and non-participants alike are encouraged to submit manuscripts for this *Annals* Collection and an official call for papers will follow.

Side meetings

The Local Organizing Committee welcomes requests from groups and organizations for meeting spaces to host side meetings before or after the symposium. Send all requests to 9th_IDT@awi.de

Venue

We look forward to welcoming the ice drill community to Albert Einstein Science Park on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam. The Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI) has a long history in ice core drilling and ice-core science. The meeting will occur at the joint facilities on Telegrafenberg, where AWI runs a branch focused on permafrost research and atmospheric science.

Scientific Programme Committee

Olivier Alemany, Paul Anker, Steffen Bo Hansen, Matthias Hüther, Jay Johnson, Darcy Mandeno, Frank Wilhelms (Chair), Nan Zhang

Local Organizing Committee

Stephanie Carstensen, Bernhard Dieckmann, Diedrich Fritzsche, Constance Oberdieck, Karlin Schumacher, Frank Wilhelms (Chair)

Editorial Board of Annals of Glaciology Collection

Nancy Bertler, Grant Boeckmann, Alison Criscitiello, Kenji Kawamura, Keith Makinson, Jason Roberts, Barbara Seth, Krissy Slawny, Pavel Talalay, Thorsteinn Thorsteinsson, Frank Wilhelms (Associate Chief Editor)



