Skip navigation

International Glaciological Society

You are in:  Home » About the IGS

About the Society

The International Glaciological Society was founded in 1936 to provide a focus for individuals interested in practical and scientific aspects of snow and ice.

The objects of the Society enshrined in its Constitution are to:

The Society recognizes achievements in glaciology and contributions to the development of the science through the award of the Seligman Crystal, Honorary Membership, the Richardson Medal and our most recent award, the Graham Cogley Award.

Country specific information and projects in glaciology is submitted periodically to National Correspondents and compiled into reports which are published in the IGS newsletter ICE.

The Society holds its Annual General Meeting every year where the President presents his/her report for the previous year and the Treasurer presents her/his report on the Society's accounts for the previous financial year. The various agendas and reports are available to view online.

The Society has branches in different parts of the world that provide a further opportunity for those sharing a common interest to meet and exchange information.

The most recent branch is the Northwest Glaciologists Branch. Northwest Glaciologists have been holding informal meetings for decades. Originally the meeting rotated between Tacoma, Seattle and Vancouver. With changes in the demographics of the glaciologists the meetings are now held in Portland (Portland University), Seattle (University of Washington), Vancouver (University of Vancouver and Simon Fraser University) and Fairbanks (University of Alaska - Fairbanks). The meetings are very informal, just show up with your presentation, the program is sorted out the first morning. The meeting are very student and early-career focused.

Early-career scientists within the IGS: EGGThe latest addition addition to the IGS family is the the Early-career Glaciology Group or EGG for short. It comprises of Early-Career Scientists within the IGS. It was formed in early 2019 and the group's aim is to connect early career scientists (ECSs) active in the various fields of glaciology and to foster networking during the early stages within the academic career. They plan to build a professional as well as socially warm environment for ECSs. For more information visit their website and follow them on twitter @egg_igs.

The Core values of the International Glaciological Society

The IGS has drawn up a document detailing the 'CORE VALUES' and the 'SCIENTIFIC CODE OF CONDUCT' of the Society. Members of the Society are expected to abide by these. IGS officers and committees will take these values into account when considering all IGS matters such as nominations to Council and the eligibility of IGS awards.

The affairs of the International Glaciological Society are managed by an elected Council, assisted by committees, dealing with Awards, Nominations and Publications.

Founder: Gerald Seligman
President: Francisco J. Navarro
Secretary General: Magnús Már Magnússon