Skip navigation

International Glaciological Society

You are in:  Home » About the IGS » National correspondents

National correspondents

(2021–2022)

The main role of the national correspondents is defined as

These activities should be accompanied by submission to the IGS Secretary General of brief news items on glaciological activities or projects developed in their country, for dissemination though ICE and/or the IGS website news or social media.

We are hoping to have a steady flow of shortish news items of relevance or special interest on glaciological activities or projects and hopefully some correspondents will club together to produce rather more substantial reports on current international collaborations.

ARGENTINA

Lucas Ruiz
Instituto Argentino de Nivología, Glaciología y Ciencias Ambientales (IANIGLA-CONICET)
lruiz@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar

AUSTRALIA

Petra Heil
Australian Antarctic Division (Science Branch) and University of Tasmania (Australian Antarctic Programme Partnership at College of Sciences and Engineering)
petra.Heil@utas.edu.au

AUSTRIA

Elisabeth Schlosser
University of Innsbruck, Department of Atmospheric and Cryospheric Sciences
elisabeth.schlosser@uibk.ac.at

BELGIUM

Philippe Huybrechts
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Earth System Science & Departement Geografie
philippe.huybrechts@vub.be

Brazil

Jefferson C Simões
Centro Polar e Climático, Instituto de Geociencias
jefferson.simoes@ufrgs.br

CANADA

Wesley van Wychen
Department of Geography and Environmental Management, University of Waterloo
wvanwychen@uwaterloo.ca

CHILE

Andrés Rivera
Departamento de Geografía, Universidad de Chile
arivera@uchile.cl

CHINA

Yao Tandong
Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences
tdyao@itpcas.ac.cn

and

Jing Gao
Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research,Chinese Academy of Sciences
gaojing@itpcas.ac.cn

DENMARK

Andreas Peter Ahlstrøm
Department of Quaternary Geology
GEUS – Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland
GEUS Phone: [45] 3814 2000
apa@geus.dk

FINLAND

Thomas Zwinger
CSC-IT Center for Science - High Performance Computing
zwinger@csc.fi

FRANCE

Étienne Berthier
CNRS, University of Toulouse
etienne.berthier@legos.obs-mip.fr

GERMANY

Daniela Jansen
Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung, Glaciology department
daniela.jansen@awi.de

ICELAND

Hrafnhildur Hannesdóttir
Icelandic Meteorological Office
IMO phone: [354] 522 6000
hh@vedur.is

ITALY

Guglielmina Diolaiuti
Department of Environmental Science and Policy, University of Milan
guglielmina.diolaiuti@unimi.it

JAPAN

Shin Sugiyama
Hokkaido University, Institute of Low Temperature Science
sugishin@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp

NETHERLANDS

Carleen Tijm-Reijmer
Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research Utrecht, Department of Physics, Faculty of science, Utrecht University
c.h.tijm-reijmer@uu.nl

NEW ZEALAND

Heather Purdie
University of Canterbury, Department of Geography
heather.purdie@canterbury.ac.nz

NORWAY

Geir Moholdt
Norwegian Polar Institute
NPI phone: [47] 991 02 900
geir.moholdt@npolar.no

POLAND

Grzegorz Rachlewicz
Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Cryosphere Research Department
grzera@amu.edu.pl

RUSSIA

Ivan Lavrentiev
Institute of Geography, Russian Academy of Sciences, Glaciology Department
lavrentiev@igras.ru

and

Sergey Sokratov
Faculty of Geography, Lomonosov Moscow State University
sokratov@geogr.msu.ru

SPAIN

Francisco J. Navarro
Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Departmento de Matematica Aplicada
francisco.navarro@upm.es

SWEDEN

Ward van Pelt
Department of Earth Sciences, Uppsala University
Institute phone: [46} 18 471 00 00
ward.van.pelt@geo.uu.se

SWITZERLAND

Frank Paul
Department of Geography, University of Zürich
frank.paul@geo.uzh.ch

UNITED KINGDOM

Sammie Buzzard
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Cardiff University
buzzards@cardiff.ac.uk

U.S.A. (Alaska)

Martin Truffer
Geophysical Institute and Department of Physics University of Alaska Fairbanks
mtruffer2@alaska.edu

U.S.A. (Eastern)

Kristin Schild
University of Maine: School of Earth and Climate Sciences /and/ Climate Change Institute
kristin.schild@maine.edu

U.S.A. (Western)

TJ Fudge
Earth and Space Sciences; University of Washington
tjfudge@uw.edu