Skip navigation

International Glaciological Society

You are in:  Home » Awards by the Society » Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership

Honorary Members shall be elected by the Council in recognition of eminent contributions to the objects of the Society, and shall not exceed twelve in number.

The oldest of the Society’s awards. It was first officially recorded in the 1962 Constitution, when the name of the Society changed from “the British Glaciological Society” to “the Glaciological Society”. (Prior to that date, a few eminent persons had been made Honorary Members on an informal and ad hoc basis.)

The following are Honorary Members of the The International Glaciological Society: