Skip navigation

International Glaciological Society

You are in:  Home » Awards by the Society » The Seligman Crystal

The Seligman Crystal

The Seligman crystal

'The Seligman Crystal shall be awarded from time to time to one who has made an outstanding scientific contribution to glaciology so that the subject is now enriched'.

In late 1962, the concept of an award for excellence in the discipline of glaciology took shape at a Council meeting in Obergurgl, Austria: not a gold medal but a hexagonal crystal of high-quality glass named the Seligman Crystal, after the Society's founder.

The following have been awarded the Seligman Crystal:

G. Seligman (1963)
H. Bader (1967)
J.F. Nye (1969)
J.W. Glen (1972)
B.L. Hansen (1972)
S. Evans (1974)
W. Dansgaard (1976) H. Röthlisberger (1992) R.B. Alley (2005)
W.B. Kamb (1977) L. Lliboutry (1993) L.G. Thompson (2007)
M. de Quervain (1982) A.J. Gow (1995) P.A. Mayewski (2009)
W.O. Field, Jr (1983) W.F. Budd (1996) A. Iken (2011)
J. Weertman (1983) S.J. Johnsen (1997) D.E. Sugden (2012)
M.F. Meier (1985) C.J. Lorius (1998) P. Duval (2013)
G. de Q. Robin (1986) C.F. Raymond (1999)
H. Oeschger (1989) S.C. Colbeck (2000)
W.F. Weeks (1989) G.S. Boulton (2001)
C.R. Bentley (1990) G.K.C. Clarke (2001)
A. Higashi (1990) K. Hutter (2003)